User Room Restriction

User Room Restriction

Why?

In KinderLogix you can limit a user to see only the children in a given room.  When a user is restricted to a specific room, they will not have the choice between different rooms to select from after logging in, but will only be able to click on the room they are limited to.  This simplifies the user interface, and reduces the number of clicks or taps required.

The room restriction is also useful when creating daily reports, or sending SMS messages to parents, as only the children in the educator's room will be listed when copying a report or when sending a group message.

If you have a daycare centre with multiple rooms, and each room has a tablet, it makes a lot of sense to create a separate username and password for each room, so that you can limit each user to a room.  So for example, the creators room will be logged in with the creators user, and be limited to see the children in the creators room, so that becomes the creators tablet.  In that way, each room will have a tablet restricted to their own room.

How?

The user room restriction is applied on the user account which is found in Admin > Security > Users & Roles.  Click on Edit User for the user you want to restrict and then in the Room Restriction input, select your room.  To remove the room restriction, select a blank value here.